The Wiener Library

For the Study of the Holocaust & Genocide

Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History

The Fraenkel Prize, sponsored by Mr Ernst Fraenkel OBE, joint President of the Library and former Chairman, is awarded for an outstanding work of twentieth-century history in one of The Wiener Library's fields of interest, including:

The History of Europe
Jewish History
The Two World Wars
Comparative Genocide
Political Extremism

Two distinct awards will be made.  

Category A

For a completed but unpublished book

$6,000 prize money

Category B

For a completed, revised or unrevised but unpublished PhD thesis or equivalent

Please note that MA theses will not be admissible

$4,000 prize money

Works submitted are normally expected to be a monograph written by a single author. The work must be written in English, French or German. English translations of books previously published in another language will not be eligible and book manuscripts submitted in previous years may not be resubmitted in any following year. The panel reserves the right not to consider any work that falls outside the specified subject areas or fails to meet entry requirements.

The Prize will be judged by the Library's Academic Advisory Board.

How to Enter

Entry Requirements

Two, non-returnable, copies of the entry – one in manuscript printed double sided and bound, and one in electronic format (CD-ROM or file attachment as a PDF or MS Word document);

A short curriculum vitae both in hard copy and as an electronic file;

Please clearly state which Category the manuscript is to be entered for. 


How to Apply for the Award 

To enter the 2014 Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History, please refer to the entry requirements and send to: 

The Wiener Library for the Study of the Holocaust and Genocide
29 Russell Square
London WC1B 5DP 

Or by e-mail to Neta Lavee.


Deadline for Entry 

All entries must reach our office by 5.30pm on Wednesday, 30 April 2014.


Winners of the Fraenkel Prize 2013

The Wiener Library is pleased to announce that the Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History for 2013 has been awarded as follows:


Category A 

Dr Mark Lewis, City University of New York, USA: The Birth of the New Justice: The Internationalization of Crime and Punishment, 1919-1950

The Judges commended the following entry:

Dr Stefan Ihrig, Van Leer Jerusalem Institute, Israel: Hitler’s “Star in the Darkness”: Nazi Visions of Atatürk and the New Turkey, 1919-1945

Category B 

Jointly awarded to:

Dr Jacob Eder, Friedrich-Schiller-University, Germany: Holocaust Angst: The Federal Republic of Germany and Holocaust Memory in the United States, 1977-1998

Dr Roman Krakovsky, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France: L’Espace et le temps dans un régime autoritaire: La Tchécoslovaquie 1948-1989

The Judges commended the following entries:

Dr Andrew Tompkins, Balliol College, Oxford University, UKBetter Active Today than Radioactive Tomorrow! Transnational Oppsition to Nuclear Energy in France and West Germany

Dr Ori Yehudai, University of Chicago, USA: Forth from Zion: Jewish Emigration from Palestine and Israel, 1945-1960